ELEAGUE to host January CS:GO Major

by Dennis Gonzales Sep 27 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of Kevin C. Cox / Getty Images Sport / Getty

Turner's ELEAGUE will play host to Valve's next CS:GO Major which will run from Jan. 22-29.

“When we launched ELEAGUE, we set out to deliver a best-in-class experience for esports teams, players and fans and we’re grateful to the entire community for their ongoing support and engagement with our content,” said Lenny Daniels, President of Turner Sports. “Less than one year since ELEAGUE’s debut, we’re thrilled to host the next CS:GO Major Championship and we will utilize all of our collective resources to help further elevate this prestigious event.”

The tournament will use the same format as previous Majors and will see 16 teams compete for their slice of the $1 million prize pool. SK Gaming, Team Liquid,, Fnatic, Astralis, FlipSid3 Tactics, Natus Vincere and Gambit Esports will receive direct invites based on the Top 8 from the previous Major, ESL One Cologne 2016. The other eight will come from the Major Qualifier, which will take place on Dec. 15-18.

RELATED: SK Gaming defeat Team Liquid 2-0, win ESL One: Cologne

Similar to the main tournament, the Major Qualifier will see 16 teams compete for their chance to play in the Major. Team Dignitas, Ninjas in Pyjamas, mousesports, FaZe Clan, Counter Logic Gaming, OpTic Gaming, Team EnVyUs and G2 Esports will be invited to the qualifier as they placed in the Bottom 8 at the previous Major while another eight will come from the Regional Minor Championships.

ELEAGUE’s Major will take place on Jan. 22-25 in the Turner Studios, and will continue on Jan. 27-29 at Fox Theatre in Atlanta, which seat 4,665 people. Additionally, the Grand Finals, which will take place on Jan. 29, will be televised live on TBS.

Dennis "Tarmanydyn" Gonzales is a news editor for theScore esports who enjoys whiskey, D&D and first-picking Abaddon Slardar Clinkz Medusa Oracle a P90 my Souvenir Negev. You can follow him on Twitter.