Kjaerbye to Astralis, cajunb to Dignitas

by Dennis Gonzales May 19 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of StarLadder

Rene "cajunb" Borg has been traded to Team Dignitas in exchange for Markus "Kjaerbye" Kjærbye, the organizations announced Thursday.

Since the start of 2016, cajunb has averaged a 1.06 HLTV player rating over 109 maps, the third highest rating on Astralis. Kjaerbye averages a 1.13 player rating over 131 maps, the single highest rating for Dignitas.

Though it’s the biggest trade competitive CS:GO has seen so far this year, given the middling performances both Danish squads have had recently, it’s not the most surprising.

At Astralis’ two most recent tournaments, ESL Pro League Season 3 Finals and DreamHack Masters Malmö, the team was eliminated in the group stage. The results were especially disappointing given the team’s impressive Top 4 finish at the most recent Major in Columbus.

Dignitas have not fared much better in 2016. Their strongest finish was at the Game Show Global eSports Cup Finals, where they took second place over Team EnVyUs. However they failed to qualify for the MLG Major Championship: Columbus and were eliminated in the group stage of the CEVO Season 9 Finals.

Most recently, Dignitas won the Europe Minor at DreamHack Tours and as a result they have secured a slot for the qualifier for the upcoming Major at ESL One Cologne 2016.

Because Kjaerbye qualified with Dignitas at DreamHack Tours, he will be ineligible to play with Astralis in the next Major, so the team is seeking a stand-in for the tournament. For all other non-Valve events, Kjaerbye will play for Astralis.

cajunb has been a player and part owner of Astralis since he, and the rest of the team, founded (5761) it on Jan. 19, but he’s also been with the roster at large since they were originally part of Dignitas. He joined the roster in October 2014, followed by Finn "karrigan" Andersen later that year in December; with Andreas "Xyp9x" Højsleth, Nicolai "dev1ce" Reedtz and Peter "dupreeh" Rothmann, the Danish squad would stick together for over a year.

According to a tweet from HLTV’s co-ower Petar Milovanovic, they are the second-longest standing roster in CS:GO history.

The team was acquired by Team SoloMid on Jan. 25 (13) last year, retained a Legend status at three CS:GO Majors and were considered one of the strongest CS:GO teams in 2015. They were released from TSM on Dec. 3 (5131) last year and were without an organization (5761) for a little over a month before forming Astralis. The organization made headlines as the first major CS:GO team to be partly owned by the players.

As a founder, cajunb owns a stake in the team. The team said on Twitter Thursday that his ownership situation will be clarified in a forthcoming announcement. Asked if Kjaerbye would receive any shares in Astralis as part of joining the team, founder and managing partner Frederik Byskov said on Reddit that “the short answer is that [he] won't.”

karrigan took to Facebook to answer some burning questions regarding the roster change. According to Astralis player, the primary reason for the roster change was the team’s underperformance.

“Lately we have been changing a lot of stuff internally in the team, which we thought would help us win tournaments, but we didn’t find the right solution,” he said.

According to karrigan, the trade will mean further adjustments will have to be made to the team’s gameplay. “We won't be replacing him with cajunb 1:1 in spots, roles and everything,” he said.

“We are now rebuilding our team around having device as main awp together with the raw aim and entry fragging from dupreeh and kjaerbye, then still have xyp9x as the clutch king,” he continued. “This will mean that many of my current spots and role on the team will be changing a lot, but we think this is right way to go.”

Team Dignitas debut their latest roster against Team EnVyUs at the Esports Championship Series EU on Thursday. Astralis will debut their roster tomorrow, May 20, against FaZe Clan in ECS EU, which takes place at 3 p.m. ET.

Astralis’ roster now looks as follows:

  • Finn "karrigan" Andersen
  • Andreas "Xyp9x" Højsleth
  • Nicolai "dev1ce" Reedtz
  • Peter "dupreeh" Rothmann
  • Markus "Kjaerbye" Kjærbye

While Team Dignitas’ roster looks a follows:

  • Mathias "MSL" Lauridsen
  • Jesper "tenzki" Mikalski
  • Kristian "k0nfig" Wienecke
  • Ruben "RUBINO" Villarroel
  • Rene "cajunb" Borg

Dennis "Tarmanydyn" Gonzales is a news editor for theScore esports who enjoys whiskey, D&D and first-picking Abaddon Slardar Clinkz Medusa Oracle a P90 my Souvenir Negev. You can follow him on Twitter.