Immortals sign Team Phoenix Dota 2 roster

by Daniel Rosen Sep 13
Thumbnail image courtesy of theScore esports / Immortals

Immortals have signed Team Phoenix, a Dota 2 roster made up of former MVP Phoenix players.

Immortals announced their intent to sign a Dota 2 roster earlier this month. Team Phoenix formed shortly before that, after Kim "QO" Seon-yeob and Kim "Febby" Young-min left Fnatic and Lee "Forev" Sang-don and Kim "DuBu" Doo-young left Digital Chaos. Pyo "MP" No-a was previously signed to Team Secret.

These players formerly played together as MVP Phoenix, and placed 5th-6th at The International 2016 and the Manila Major 2016. Following their 2016 run they were split across multiple rosters, but have now reunited as Immortals.

Earlier today, Beyond the Summit tweeted that the team was ineligible for Beyond the Summit's King's Cup: America event because they were based in South Korea. It is unclear if Immortals will be moving the roster to North America for the competitive season.

Immortals currently field a North American League of Legends roster, a Brazilian CS:GO team, two Super Smash Bros. players and have purchased a spot in the upcoming Overwatch League. This is their first foray into Dota 2.

Daniel Rosen is a news editor for theScore esports. You can follow him on Twitter.