Riot announces franchised teams for new European league

by Keith Capstick Nov 20 2018
Thumbnail image courtesy of Riot Games

Six current EU LCS teams will join four returning and new orgs in a new, franchised League in Europe, Riot announced Tuesday morning.

The move comes with a name change — the EU LCS has been rebranded to the League of Legends European Championship (LEC).

Riot also announced the final roster of teams that will be competing:

  • FC Schalke 04
  • Fnatic
  • G2 Esports
  • Misfits Gaming
  • Origen
  • Excel
  • Rogue
  • SK Gaming
  • Splyce
  • Team Vitality

Now, if those names aren't exactly what you expected based on earlier reports — you're not alone. According to a report by ESPN's Jacob Wolf, negotiations between Riot and franchising hopefuls North and Movistar Riders fell through at the last minute. This lead to the inclusion of Splyce and exceL.

RFRSH Entertainment — the ownership group that owns CS:GO team Astralis — has purchased Origen and the team will be operating under their brand alongside Astralis.

The first games in the new, franchised LEC will be played when the Spring Split begins on Jan. 18.

Keith Capstick is a news editor for theScore esports. You can follow him on Twitter.