DreamLeague Season 6 to feature OG, Evil Geniuses, Team Liquid

by theScore Staff Sep 26 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of Sebastian Ekman / DreamHack Flickr

The full lineup of teams participating in the sixth season of DreamLeague has been announced, and this time around the lineup is stacked with plenty of top-tier talent.

The full list of teams competing in DreamLeague Season 6 is:

  • OG
  • Team Secret
  • Evil Geniuses
  • Na`Vi
  • Alliance
  • Escape Gaming
  • Vega Squadron
  • Team Liquid

League play begins in a little over two weeks, on Oct. 11. With a distinct lack of qualifiers or LAN events taking place in the Dota 2 world since The International 6, this will be one of the first places to see teams like Alliance, Team Liquid and Na`Vi in action.

Season 6 will keep Season 5's League play rules. Each match will be best-of-two with $1,000 on the line for each map, making every game count. Four teams will advance to the LAN finals out of League play.

Notably, Evil Geniuses will make their return to the mainly European event. EG played in the original Kick-Off Season in 2013, were invited back for Season 1 (which included a North American qualifier) and were also invited to Season 2, which had both North American and Asian Divisions, but from Season 3 onward DreamLeague has been all-European.

Both seasons 4 and 5 of DreamLeague were won by OG, first as a direct followup to their Frankfurt Major victory and second just under a month before their repeat Major win in Manila. The OG attending Season 6 contains only two of the players from that roster, but they'll certainly be looking to defend their title once again.

The LAN finals will take place at DreamHack Winter in Jönköping, Sweden on Nov. 25 and 26. It will take the form of best-of-three matches in a double elimination bracket with a best-of-five Grand Final. The tournament features a $175,000 prize pool.

Annabelle "Abelle" Fischer is a writer for theScore esports with a love for Dota 2, birds and cheese. You can follow her on Twitter.