Smash Summit 2 invitees announced

by theScore Staff Mar 4 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of Beyond the Summit

Beyond the Summit has revealed the first ten invitees to their upcoming Smash Summit 2 tournament on Thursday, setting the stage for another group of exciting matchups.

The ten invitees to the tournament are as follows:

  • Adam "Armada" Lindgren
  • Juan "Hungrybox" Debiedma
  • William "Leffen" Hjelte
  • Joseph "Mango" Marquez
  • Jeffrey "Axe" Williamson
  • Justin Ryan "Plup" McGrath
  • Zachary "SFAT" Cordoni
  • Jason "Mew2King" Zimmerman
  • DaJuan "Shroomed" McDaniel
  • Weston "Westballz" Dennis

Both Leffen and Hungrybox were invited to the first Smash Summit in November 2015, but Leffen was unable to attend due to visa issues, and Hungrybox declined his invite due to scheduling conflicts.

The inaugural Smash Summit featured a $32,929 prize pool, the largest prize pool in Super Smash Bros. Melee history. Armada won the singles tournament, while SFAT won the doubles tournament alongside Kevin "PewPewU" Toy.

The community will have the opportunity to vote on the remaining six players who will attend the tourney alongside the invitees. Nominations will be held on Twitter. The format and prize pool for Smash Summit 2 have not been announced, but the event will run from Apr. 21-24.

Preston Dozsa is a news editor for theScore eSports. You can follow him on Twitter.