USA, Finland, Sweden leading the pack at Overwatch World Cup

by theScore Staff Aug 30 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of Blizzard Entertainment

The fans have voted and the rosters for the 51 national teams attending Blizzcon 2016 for the Overwatch World Cup include more than a few pro players.

RELATED: Overwatch World Cup to take place at BlizzCon, feature national teams

According to the rosters revealed on the Play Overwatch website, NRG's Brandon "Seagull" Larned will be leading Team America. He's joined by fellow NRG player Daniel "Gods" Graeser, Adam "MESR" De La Torre of Team Liquid, Cloud 9 support Adam "Adam" Eckel and ESL caster Steven "Ster" Serge.

Sadly, none are McRee mains, so we may not get a chance to see American McRee donning Old Glory for his titular nation on the Blizzcon stage.

Atlantic Showdown champions Rogue have two players competing, team captain Kevyn "TviQ" Lindström for Sweden and Jean-Louis "KnOxXx" Boyer for France.

Sweden currently boasts one of the stronger lineups at the event, with Misfits' Sebastian "Zebbosai" Olsson, Luminosity's Kalle "Zave" Haag Nilsson, Fnatic's André "iddqd" Dahlström and Sebastian "chipshajen" Widlund Christian "cocco" Jonsson, both of EnVyUs, joining TviQ. Hopefully cocco and chipshajen aren't upset TviQ's team broke EnVyUs's 57-game winning streak at the Atlantic Showdown.

RELATED: Rogue defeat REUNITED 3-1 to win ESL Atlantic Showdown

Cloud9's Lane "Surefour" Roberts was voted captain of Team Canada and used one of his two Captain Picks for former Starcraft II pro and current Overwatch caster, Chris "HuK" Loranger.

FaZe Clan has three players playing for three different national teams, Eric "TwoEasy" van Hoorn is repping Benelux, which encompasses Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg, George "ShaDowBurn" Gushcha for Russia, and Viktors "Forsak3n" Bernevs for Team CIS and Baltic Area.

EnVyUs flex Dennis "INTERNETHULK" Hawelka will also be captaining the German squad, though his teammates, Finnish Timo "Taimou" Kettunen and American Ronnie "Talespin" DuPree, will be representing their own homelands.

Team Finland boasts three members of Ninjas in Pyjamas, with Joonas "zappis" Alakurtti voted as captain and using one of his picks for Kalle "hymzi" Honkala. They're joined by teammate Lauri "mafu" Rasi and Dignitas player Jiri "LiNkzr" Masalin.

Showcasing impressive strategic voting, China locked in five members of Invictus Gaming Fire. The only outlier was a member of their sister team, Invictus Gaming Ice.

While Canada, the United States, Brazil, China, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand are all automatically going on to Blizzcon, everyone else will have to win their spot in online qualifiers. The top 16 teams in the qualifiers will get a free trip to Blizzcon and an appearance fee in lieu of a prize pool.

Blizzcon will take place Nov. 4-5 in sunny Anaheim, California.

Sasha Erfanian is very disappointed there isn't a Canadian Overwatch hero yet. Console him on Twitter.