ZeRo wins 2GGT: Abadango Saga

by Daniel Rosen Sep 25 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of theScore esports

Gonzalo "ZeRo" Barrios is the 2GGT: Abadango Saga champion following a 3-1 win over Larry "Larry Lurr" Holland in the second set of the Grand Finals.

While ZeRo had a rough start to 2016, his recent results are bringing him back to the level of consistency that earned him the title "King of Smash 4" in 2015. At Abadango Saga, ZeRo beat Jason "ANTi" Bates 3-0 and Nairoby "Nairo" Quezada on his way to Grand Finals before dropping his first and only set of the tournament when Larry Lurr reset the bracket on him.

Meanwhile, Larry had one of the most impressive Loser's Bracket runs in Smash 4 history. Larry beat Thomas "Ito" Gonda, Matt "Xzax" Liberatore, Shawn "K9sbruce" Bruce, WaDi, Furukawa "Komorikiri" Rei, Elliot "Ally" Bastien Carroza-Oyarce and Nairoby "Nairo" Quezada, winning his sets against both Ally and Nario 3-0.

Throughout the entire tournament, ZeRo played a slow, control-oriented game, dictating the pace of the match with a constant hail of bananas and Monkey Flips that drove his opponents into the corner and never let them escape. Larry, however, went for the exact opposite playstyle, rushing in and frustrating his enemies with endless aggression. But all the rushdown in the world couldn't beat ZeRo for long, and despite an impressive 3-1 in the first set of the Grand Finals, Larry went down 3-1 himself in Set 2.

As for the tournament's namesake, the 2GGT curse still holds true — no one ever wins a 2GGT Saga named after them. Abadango fell to B7Games Dr. Mario 2-0 in pools, then got eliminated 3-0 by Elegant's Luigi in Top 16.

Daniel Rosen is a news editor for theScore esports. You can follow him on Twitter.