ZeRo, Abadango, Dabuz among Top 8 at Smash 4 at EVO 2016

by theScore Staff Jul 16 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of Nintendo / EVO

It's been a long two days for the Super Smash Bros. for Wii U tournament at EVO 2016, with plenty of upsets removing some of the top players from competition at the largest Smash 4 tournament ever.

Jason "ANTi" Bates, Eric "ESAM" Lew, Rei "Komorikiri" Furukawa and Christian "Hyuga" Medina were all eliminated outside of the Top 16, with ESAM and Hyuga placing 25th-32nd, Komorikiri finishing in 17th and ANTi failing to make it to the Top 32. The CEO 2016 champion lost to Austin "Dath" Brown in his final Loser's Bracket match before the Top 32, while Dath would go on to lose to Alexander "Pugwest" Martins in his next match.

In two shocking eliminations, Nairoby "Nairo" Quezada and Ramin "Mr. R" Delshad were eliminated prior to the Top 8 by Larry "Larry Lurr" Holland and Alberto "Trela" Miliziano respectively. Mr. R was the runner-up to EVO 2015, while Nairo placed third at the same event.

Surviving in the Winner's Bracket are Elliot "Ally" Bastien Carroza-Oyarce, Yuta "Abadango" Kawamura, Takuto "Kamemushi" and Jason "VoiD" Makkekau-Tyson.

The King of Smash 4, Gonzalo "ZeRo" Barrios, has torn through the Loser's Bracket on his way to the Top 8, having not dropped a single game since his arrival there. Joining ZeRo in the Loser's Bracket are top players Larry Lurr, Ryuto "Ranai" Hayashi and Samuel "Dabuz" Buzby.

The Top 8 for EVO 2016 will begin at 3 p.m. EST on July 16.

Preston Dozsa is a news editor for theScore esports. You can follow him on Twitter.