Hungrybox wins EVO 2016

by Daniel Rosen Jul 17 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of Twitch

Juan "Hungrybox" Debiedma is the EVO 2016 champion, after two 3-2 wins over Adam "Armada" Lindgren in the Grand Finals.

Hungrybox crawled through the losers' bracket after a Winners' Quarterfinals loss to Justin "Plup" McGrath. While in the losers' bracket, Hbox beat Joseph "Mang0" Marquez and Plup in a Losers' Finals rematch.

Armada put Hbox in several last stock, last hit situations, but Hungrybox clutched it out time and time again. Hbox never slipped, making sure to punish every mistake, and capitalize on every stray hit.

This is Hbox's first EVO win, and it comes after a strong performance throughout 2016. Hbox took first at Smash 'N' Splash 2, Low Tier City 4, EGLX, Pound 2016 and Battle of the Five Gods.

Daniel Rosen is a news editor for theScore esports. You can follow him on Twitter.