Nairo wins Smash 4 at Super Smash Con

by Daniel Rosen Aug 14 2016
Thumbnail image courtesy of Dennis Gonzales / theScore esports

Nairoby "Nairo" Quezada is the Super Smash Bros. for Wii U Super Smash Con champion, following a 3-1 win over Samuel "Dabuz" Buzby in the Grand Finals.

This marks Nairo's first major tournament win since he won the MLG World Finals in October, and his first tournament win since winning KTAR XVIII in June. Nairo's been in a slump since the MLG World Finals, and this win could put him back in contention for the Top 3 player rank he had late last year. In Top 8, Nairo defeated Dabuz, Ramin "Mr. R" Delshad, James "VoiD' Makekau-Tyson and Wesley "6WX" Alexander, all of whom are considered top players.

Top 8 for Smash 4 at Super Smash Con went as follows:

1st: Nairoby "Nairo" Quezada (Zero Suit Samus)
2nd: Samuel "Dabuz" Buzby (Rosalina and Luma/Olimar)
3rd: Ramin "Mr. R" Delshad (Sheik/Bayonetta)
4th: James "VoiD" Makekau-Tyson (Sheik)
5th-6th: Elliot "Ally" Bastien Carroza-Oyarce (Mario)
5th-6th: Andrew "ScAtt" Huntley (Mega Man/Cloud)
7th-8th: Griffin "Fatality" Miller (Captain Falcon/Mario)
7th-8th: Yuta "Abadango" Kawamura (Mewtwo/Rosalina and Luma)

Daniel Rosen is a news editor for theScore esports. You can follow him on Twitter.